Lifeline Canada does not publish a full price list. Its promotion page shows each system "starting at $36.75", and its FAQ says the monthly fee depends on the equipment you choose and the local program in your area, plus a one-time activation fee whose amount it does not post (lifeline.ca, checked October 14, 2026).
So the honest answer to "how much is Lifeline a month?" is: Lifeline's own pages say "starting at $36.75" without naming the billing period, and you need to call for the real number. Lifeline is not free as a rule, but some people pay less or nothing through a hospital program, a provincial benefit or a local subsidy.
This post covers what Lifeline publishes and what it leaves out, what a plan includes, the programs that lower the cost, who owns Lifeline now, and how it lines up against other Canadian options.
How much is Lifeline a month in Canada?
Lifeline Canada advertises plans "starting at $36.75" for HomeSafe, On the Go, the On the Go Smartwatch and its other systems. It does not publish the price of each system, the cost of fall detection, or the amount of its one-time activation fee. Lifeline asks you to call 1-866-801-1595 for local pricing.
Lifeline's FAQ explains why. The monthly fee covers 24-hour monitoring and the rental of the equipment, and it "may vary depending on the equipment selected and/or program offering in your service area." Lifeline works through local programs, and some of them are run by hospitals and health authorities, so the price can differ from one region to the next.
One thing to watch for: several of the cost pages that rank for "Philips Lifeline price" are American review sites quoting American prices from lifeline.com. Those are not Canadian quotes, and nothing in this post uses them.
We did the same price check for two other Canadian services, in our breakdowns of what Life Assure costs and what TELUS Medical Alert costs. The table below puts all of them side by side.
Lifeline and other Canadian medical alerts: what each one publishes
| Provider | Monthly cost | Up-front or equipment fee | Contract | Fall detection |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lifeline Canada | "Starting at $36.75" (billing period not stated); price per system not published | One-time activation fee, amount not published; equipment rented | Month to month; 7 days' notice before month end; 3-month term on current offers | Price not published |
| Life Assure | $34.95 home (needs a landline); $54.95 mobile | None listed; free shipping online | No contract | $9.99 a month extra |
| TELUS Health | $45 home, $65 pendant on a 1-year term; $60 and $80 with no term | $35 activation fee | 1-year term or month to month | Included on the pendant; not listed for the home system |
| Galaxy Medical Alert | From $34.95 home; from $49.95 mobile | No setup or equipment fee | 3 months, then renews unless you give 30 days' written notice | $10 a month more on home; included on mobile |
| Holo Alert | From $49.95 (Holo Pro, monthly plan); annual plans from $599.95 a year | $89.97 to $149.97 device fee on monthly plans; device included on annual plans; no activation fee | Monthly plans month to month; annual plans prepaid for 12 months | Included on every device |
Prices checked October 14, 2026, on each company's own website, before tax. Holo Alert's figures are Fall Safety Promo prices that run to December 31, 2026. "Not published" means the company's website does not list the figure, so ask before you sign.
The two lines to ask Lifeline about are the activation fee and fall detection. Both change the first-year cost, and neither is on its website.
What does a Lifeline plan include?
A Lifeline plan is a monthly fee that covers 24/7 monitoring and the rental of the equipment. You press a help button and a Lifeline response associate answers. Lifeline says it is monitored in Canada by Canadian employees, from one response centre in Toronto, with support in more than 240 languages.
Lifeline Canada has been in the field longer than most. It says it became the first personal response service in Canada in 1974 and now works with more than 250 programs run with hospitals and community agencies.
It sells two kinds of system:
- HomeSafe is a base unit with a help button you wear around the house. Lifeline gives its typical range as a 350-foot radius. The landline version needs a working landline, and Lifeline asks anyone who has switched to an internet or digital phone service to call first, because those services "may have potential risks when paired with Lifeline." A cellular version does not need a landline.
- On the Go is a mobile button that uses a cellular network and is designed for use across Canada. The On the Go Smartwatch adds GPS and Wi-Fi location and automatic fall detection, according to its product page.
On terms, Lifeline says there is no long-term contract and the fee is paid month to month. Its current offers, free installation or a free month, each require a three-month term. Its FAQ says you can cancel within 10 days of installation for a refund. After that, you give seven days' notice before the end of the month. The equipment is rented, and you can send it back with a prepaid Canada Post label or pay a small fee to have it picked up.
Is Lifeline free for seniors in Canada?
Not as a rule. Lifeline charges a monthly fee and a one-time activation fee, and its own funding guide says provincial health plans generally do not automatically cover medical alert monitoring. Some people pay less or nothing through a local subsidy, a provincial benefit, Veterans Affairs Canada, or a workplace health plan.
These are the routes we could confirm on official pages:
- Manitoba. Victoria Lifeline, a community service of the Victoria Hospital Foundation, halves the monthly rate and waives the activation fee for people with taxable income of $18,000 or less, or $26,000 or less for a household. It says that brings HomeSafe down to as little as $21 a month.
- Alberta. The Special Needs Assistance for Seniors program can pay up to $25 a month toward personal response monitoring fees for a single senior with income up to $32,690, or a couple up to $53,800. It covers in-home systems that connect to a responder, not installation or personal GPS tracking. This applies to any qualifying service, not only Lifeline.
- Veterans. Lifeline's funding guide, dated June 2026, says some veterans may find funding through Veterans Affairs Canada.
- Workplace or private health plans. The same guide says some extended health plans cover safety equipment and others exclude monthly monitoring. Check your own plan booklet.
Blue Cross also appears in searches for free Lifeline. Its member savings page offers free activation and shipping, which it values at $89.95, on a six-month term. That is a discount on the start-up cost, not free monitoring.
The pattern is the same for other health costs: help exists, but it sits in different programs in each province. Our guide to what hearing aids cost and who helps pay walks through the same kind of search for another common purchase.
In Alberta, the Special Needs Assistance for Seniors program can pay up to $25 a month toward personal response monitoring fees for a single senior with income up to $32,690, according to the Government of Alberta.
Why do Fraser Health, Northern Health and other health authorities list Lifeline?
Because some hospitals and health authorities run Lifeline programs themselves, as local partners. Being listed by a hospital does not make it free. Fraser Health, Northern Health and Horizon's The Moncton Hospital all charge for the service, and a Toronto listing names an installation fee and a monthly fee.
Here is what each one publishes:
- Fraser Health (B.C.) runs its own Lifeline program and bills clients through its treasury office. The application form on its website, posted in August 2021 going by its file name, listed $35 to $75 a month depending on the system and whether you have a landline, plus a one-time $40 activation fee. The fall detection button was $10 a month more than the standard button. That is the newest full Lifeline price list we could find published anywhere in Canada, and it dates from 2021, so confirm today's rate with Fraser Health.
- Northern Health (B.C.) describes its Lifeline program's cost as "a little more than a dollar a day", with no contract and no added service or cancellation fees. It does not publish an exact monthly rate.
- Horizon Health Network (New Brunswick). The Moncton Hospital partners with Lifeline Canada, and calls go to the hospital's emergency department. It is a billed service: Horizon says the equipment must be returned to stop billing, and it does not publish a price.
- Unity Health Toronto. A Toronto health-services directory lists Philips Lifeline under Unity Health Toronto and St. Michael's Hospital. The listing names an installation fee and a monthly fee, says a subsidy "may be available", and sends you to Lifeline's own sales line.
If a hospital social worker or discharge planner hands you a Lifeline brochure, it is fair to ask two questions: what the monthly fee is in your area, and whether that program has a subsidy.
Who bought Philips Lifeline?
Philips sold its Lifeline business to Connect America, a company based in Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania. The deal was announced on May 5, 2021, and completed on July 6, 2021. The price was not disclosed, and Philips kept a stake in the company. Lifeline Canada describes 2021 as the year it joined forces with Connect America.
Philips had owned Lifeline Systems since 2006, which is why many Canadians still know the service as Philips Lifeline. Today the Canadian website is run by Lifeline of Canada Holdings Ltd., and the Philips name has largely dropped from its pages. Hospital listings and older brochures still use it, so both names point to the same service.
How reliable is Philips Lifeline fall detection?
We could not find an independent Canadian accuracy test on Lifeline's pages. A Lifeline partner page says its AutoAlert fall detection detects more than 95 percent of falls, and the data note on Lifeline's HomeSafe page refers to reports from U.S. subscribers in 2012. Lifeline says plainly that fall detection does not detect 100 percent of falls.
Lifeline's own advice is to press the button you wear whenever you can, even when fall detection is switched on. That advice holds for every brand. Automatic fall detection is a backup for the moments a person cannot press, not a replacement for pressing.
Lifeline does not publish what fall detection adds to the monthly fee. On Fraser Health's 2021 form it was $10 a month more, so ask for the price with fall detection included before you compare.
Where Holo Alert fits
Holo Alert is a Canadian medical alert service with its prices on its website. Plans start at $49.95 a month, fall detection is included on every device, there is no activation fee, and the devices work anywhere in Canada where cellular service is available.
Here is the full picture, at Fall Safety Promo prices that run to December 31, 2026:
- Monthly plans: Holo Pro $49.95, Holo Mini $54.95 and Holo Active $59.95 a month, plus a one-time device fee of $89.97, $119.97 or $149.97. Monthly plans are month to month, with no fixed long-term commitment.
- Annual plans: $599.95, $659.95 or $719.95 a year, prepaid for 12 months, with the device included and a bonus month of service.
- On every plan: 24/7 professional monitoring from stations in Canada, fall detection included, and no Wi-Fi, smartphone or landline required. Devices are rented, not owned.
The difference from Lifeline is mostly in what you can see before you call. With Holo Alert, the monthly fee, the device fee and the cost of fall detection are on the device pages. For a wider side-by-side of Canadian services, read our comparison of the best medical alert systems in Canada.
Frequently asked questions
Is Lifeline tax deductible in Canada?
No. The Canada Revenue Agency lists "personal response systems such as Lifeline" among the medical expenses you cannot claim, in its guide to medical expenses for the 2025 tax year. The listing covers personal response systems in general, not only Lifeline. Keep your receipts anyway if a provincial program or health plan might reimburse part of the cost.
How much does a Lifeline smartwatch cost in Canada?
Lifeline does not publish a separate price for the On the Go Smartwatch. Its promotion page shows the smartwatch "starting at $36.75", the same figure it shows for every system, and its product page offers free installation and a phone number for a quote. Ask whether fall detection is included in the price you are given.
Does Blue Cross cover Lifeline?
Blue Cross's member savings page offers free activation and shipping on Lifeline, valued at $89.95, for new activations on a six-month term. It does not lower the monthly fee. Whether your own Blue Cross health plan pays toward monitoring depends on your plan, so check your benefits booklet or call Blue Cross.
How do I cancel Lifeline?
Lifeline's FAQ says you can cancel within 10 days of installation for a refund. After that, tell Lifeline at least seven days before the end of the month to avoid the next month's charge. The equipment is rented, so send it back with the prepaid Canada Post label, or pay a small fee for a pickup.
Are there any free medical alert systems available for seniors in Canada?
Not as a standard benefit. Lifeline's own funding guide says provincial health plans generally do not automatically cover medical alert monitoring. Some programs pay part of the cost for people with lower incomes, such as Alberta's Special Needs Assistance for Seniors and Manitoba's Victoria Lifeline subsidy. Our look at medical alerts with no monthly fee in Canada explains what "free" offers usually mean.
The short version
Lifeline is a long-standing Canadian service with month-to-month billing and local hospital partners across the country. What it does not do is publish its full prices, so the only way to compare it fairly is to call and ask three things: the monthly fee in your area, the activation fee, and the price with fall detection included.
If you would rather see the prices before you call, Holo Alert starts at $49.95 a month with fall detection included on every device and no activation fee. To talk through which device fits, call 1-888-445-0192, or compare the devices online. Every plan is backed by the 10-day risk-free guarantee.



